Sample Sidebar Module

This is a sample module published to the sidebar_top position, using the -sidebar module class suffix. There is also a sidebar_bottom position below the menu.









Sample Sidebar Module

This is a sample module published to the sidebar_bottom position, using the -sidebar module class suffix. There is also a sidebar_top position below the search.

Welcome to the Diocese of NW Texas

NWT Shield bg small2Welcome to the Episcopal Church in the Diocese of Northwest Texas--a place where the vast open plains are as wondrous as the big sky above!... The landscape, covering 77,000 square miles is as diverse as... READ MORE...

Keep up to date with NWT Diocesan news and events via our email newsletter. Subscribe today!

  • Register
59th Annual Convention Recap
A look back at the annual convention

supply priests banner

The 59 th Annual Diocesan Convention was held October 12-14, 2017 at Church of the Heavenly Rest and the Abilene Civic Center.  The event drew over 180 persons from around the diocese to conduct the business of the diocese, worship, connect and reconnect with people from other parts of the diocese, enjoy great food, and do a little shopping at the vendor booths. The Theme of the Convention was I love to tell the story .  Renown professional story-teller, Kathy Culmer, charmed and enlightened as she told her story and...

Read More

Hurricane Harvey Relief
A Message from Bishop Mayer

supply priests banner

Statement from Bishop Mayer on Harvey: Like all of you, I have been riveted by the news coming out of Rockport, Houston, and the other areas hit by Hurricane Harvey and its aftermath. As the full extent of the damage becomes known, it is clear that help will be needed for a very long time along the Texas Coast. While the immediate need is rescue of those in peril, assessment of long term needs is already beginning. I know Episcopalians in the diocese of Northwest Texas are eager to help. As always Episcopal Relief and Development is on the ground...

Read More

Clergy Positions Available
In the Diocese of Northwest Texas

Priest ord banner2


Read More

NWT Diocese, A Faith 
Community of Hope

The Diocese of Northwest Texas is comprised of eighty counties covering 77,000 square miles. Northwest Texas became a missionary district in 1911 when the Missionary District of Northern Texas split into two regions: the Diocese of Dallas and the Missionary District of North Texas by action of the General Convention and petitioned the General Convention to become a diocese in 1958. The diocese is the home of 32 parishes, missions and congregations; six schools; and one retirement center in Odessa.

Learn More About Us

Episcopal Video Programming

Episcopal News Feed

Our Diocesan Staff

Calendar of Events
“The Episcopal Church welcomes all who worship Jesus Christ, in 109 dioceses and three regional areas in 17 nations.  The Episcopal Church is a member province of the worldwide Anglican Communion.”

Meet Our Bishop of the NW Texas Diocese

bishop mayer profile
Bishop James Scott Mayer Bishop since 2009
Bishop Mayers Consecration 3
Consecration March 21, 2009 Click image to view video
At the Special Electing Convention held at St. Paul's Episcopal Church in Lubbock on November 22nd, 2008, the Rev. James Scott Mayer, Rector of the Church of the Heavenly Rest in Abilene, Texas, was elected the Fifth Bishop of the Diocese of Northwest Texas. Fr. Mayer was elected on the second ballot.

Bishop Mayer was consecrated on Saturday, March 21st, at First United Methodist Church in Lubbock. Our Presiding Bishop, the Most Rev. Dr. Katharine Jefferts Schori, was the chief consecrator and was joined by Bishops from around the Church.

Learn More About Our Bishop